My thoughts on… Animal welfare in Aquariums

Hey everyone!

Last week I went on a trip to the London Sea Life Aquarium with my friend and I have to say it really got me thinking about how some of those animals (in my opinion at least) really shouldn’t be there. In the shark tank, there are sting rays, huge sea turtles and sharks (obviously.) But i just believe that its unfair and cruel to keep these animals in particular in there. Why just these ones? Because they are the biggest animals that the aquarium keeps. It is not right to keep large wild animals in such closed off conditions for so long. And once again its for our own selfish entertainment!

Screen Shot 2017-08-06 at 23.35.03.png

However, I was most shocked when i saw that they keep an enclosure for penguins. Yes, thats right. Penguins! The area they have to live in isn’t even that big. Why can’t we just leave them where they were supposed to be in Antarctica, where there is space to roam in and real snow. Not just some concrete and rocks painted over in white paint. In the tropical themed area of the aquarium there is a fish tank about the size of two cars where they keep a crocodile. Surely you must agree with me that this isn’t right? A large animal like that needs space to run free. But instead its in a small glass box in London with nothing to do but endure the screaming children banging on the window.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t completely disapprove of places like aquariums and zoos. There is a time and place for them, and that is when they keep endangered animals. We can’t have any more species going completely extinct from the cruel acts of humans. But when they are set up purely to please us. That is when its just selfish.

These were just some thoughts I had after my trip. Let me know if you agree with me, or disagree and we can have a discussion.

Love,

CC xoxo

5 thoughts on “My thoughts on… Animal welfare in Aquariums

  1. The Wild Man says:

    Having learnt about animal cruelty through PETA and peta2, I agree with you that I feel it is cruel. The ever so worrying prospect of global warming makes it even scarier that we may not have penguins in fifty years time. These penguins need more space or need to go back home to the wild.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

