My thoughts on…The music of today

When the UK Top 50 comes to mind, my head just wants to turn my ears off. The majority of the pop music from the past couple years is just really bad. Now don’t get me wrong I’m not saying this goes for all artists creating music in 2017. I really enjoy listening some artists like Adele, Ed Sheeran and Sam Smith who I believe are genuinely really talented. But honestly at least 70% of music in the charts today is just down right awful, maybe its because I’m just not into rap which is what a lot of modern music seems to contain. I think it just ruins the song. SORRY any aspiring rappers out there! (I just want to make clear this is specifically about music that is in the charts, not about all music being written now.)

I feel like when it comes to music i was born in the wrong decade. I find myself going onto the Spotify playlists and just going straight to the decades section where I can browse through 70s and 80s music. Basically back to when popular music was good. The music that was made back then is the sort of music that people will still remember and play in years to come. But one of the songs that was number one in the charts last year you probably haven’t heard on the radio again for a while. Surely this just proves my point. Music used to be better.

Also im a huge sucker for jazz music as well. What happened to that? Just because some of the greats like Frank Sinatra and Ella Fitzgerald aren’t around anymore doesn’t mean their music had to die with them. Thats partly why I loved the movie La La Land because the entire time I was just thinking YES! BRING JAZZ BACK!

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 16.27.41

Ella Fitzgerald and Frank Sinatra together 

So thats it. Sorry for the little rant and if some of you completely disagree with me. This is just my opinion, we all have one. Let me know your thoughts to see if i’m not the only one who thinks this or if you have different ideas.

CC xoxo

Leave a Reply

