Chocolate Muffins Recipe

First of all I would like to apologise for the incredibly oddly shaped muffins that I have made. There is an explanation for this mistake. I hadn’t realised until it was too late that I had let my friend borrow my muffin tin. So i had to make do and line the insides of a cake tin with the muffin cases, which therefore resulted in not the most aesthetic looking cakes. However, I can guarantee they tasted far far far better than they looked!

The whole reason why I was making these muffins was because I had a friend coming over who doesn’t like icing that much. I KNOW! Who doesn’t like icing?! So I thought i would just whip up a quick batch of the hummingbird bakery chocolate muffins and my friend would enjoy them. They were so fluffy and delicious, not to mention incredibly easy to make.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 200g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 130g plain flour
  • 50g cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 160 ml whole milk
  • 160g butter
  • 120 milk or dark chocolate (or a mixture if you would like)

imageMethod

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees celsius
  2. Mix the sugar and eggs with an electric whisk or free standing electric mixer. Mix until pale and creamy for about 2 – 3 mins
  3. Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt into a separate bowl
  4. In a jug measure out the milk and add the vanilla extract
  5. Chop up the chocolate into chocolate chip sized chunks
  6. Melt the butter in a different bowl
  7. Add the flour mixture and the milk mixture into the eggs bit by bit, stirring in-between each addition
  8. Mix then in the melted butter
  9. Stir in the chocolate
  10. Bake for around 25 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean

IMG_0908

Here is my attempt at trying to make do without a muffin tin….

IMG_8148

I loved how they turned out. So soft and light in the middle. If you aren’t a huge fan of rich, dense chocolate cake then this is definitely a good recipe for you.

image.png

Even though they could have looked better, they were super fluffy and moist with a almost brownie like top! And they were eaten very quickly aswell.

Enjoy

CC xoxo

One thought on “Chocolate Muffins Recipe

Leave a Reply

